FDIC Digital Signage
The History of County National Bank

Who We Are

About County National Bank

When we opened our headquarters in Hillsdale in 1934, we made a decision to invest in our community. The building blocks of our success are honesty, integrity, and exceptional service. We are committed to earning your trust and being the best bank for your business or personal financial needs, now and in the future.

We currently operate 13 full service branches, two loan production centers, a mortgage lending center, a wealth management center, and 19 ATMs throughout southern Michigan.

Our communities are the heart of our business – local associates and board members make our decisions. We put money to work right in your neighborhood by supporting businesses, creating jobs, and contributing to charitable organizations. Our associates dedicate thousands of volunteer hours annually, serving alongside you to make the areas we serve better places to work and live.

When you bank with CNB, you are banking on the success of your community.

Mission Statement

“County National Bank will sustain its deep commitment to the community and to its tradition of excellence in all aspects of banking. We will continue to provide outstanding client service and solid financial performance.”

Ford Foot, President
1934 -1942

  • 1934 - Bank opens

Opening Day
Opening Day

Lewis A. Greenley, President
1942 -1953

Old picture of the bank
Original Location

  • Signs of Progress

CC (Buck) Buchanan, President
1953 -1974

  • 1962 – expands to Jonesville (Grosvenor State Bank)
  • 1974 – Buchanan Branch opened on Lewis Street in Hillsdale

Jonesville Bank Building
Jonesville Bank Building

Recent picture of bank building
Bank Logo 1971

James Tamblyn, President
1974 -1983

Old Trust Office Photography
Trust Office

  • 1976 – Trust Department Fiduciary Approval Granted
  • 1982 – expansion to Litchfield (Tamblyn Branch)

Norman Rodgers, President
1983 - 2004

Howell St 1987 Ribbon Cutting
Howell Street Ribbon Cutting - 1987

  • 1987 – move to current main office
  • 1991 – expansion to Lenawee (Hudson)
  • 1997 – acquisition of Litchfield, Spring Arbor, Somerset Center, and Hanover
  • 1999 – Homer Branch
  • 2001 – expansion to Jackson (Cortland Street)

Recent picture of bank building
Cortland Street Ribbon Cutting

Craig Connor, President
2004 - 2018

Adrian St. Ribbon Cutting
Adrian Ribbon Cutting

  • 2004 – Wisner Street Branch
  • 2005 – CNB Community Bancorp, Inc. Holding Company Established
  • 2007 – Horton Road Branch
  • 2016 – Adrian Branch
  • 2016 – Spring Arbor Road Loan Production Office (LPO)
  • 2018 – Jackson Street Branch & Cortland Street LPO

John Waldron, President
2018 - 2022

  • 2021 – Tecumseh Branch
  • 2021 – Fields Building Business Loan Center


Recent picture of bank building
Tecumseh Grand Opening

Joe Williams, President
2022 -

2001 Spring Arbor Road Office Opening
Spring Arbor Road Grand Opening

  • 2022 – Spring Arbor Road Branch
  • 2022 – Relocation of Spring Arbor Branch
  • 2022 – Cortland Street Mortgage Loan Center
  • 2023 – Hillsdale Wealth Management Center
  • 2024 – Portage Business Loan Center